It all started with love…

7 Jun

It is easy to get caught up in the hype of missions.

  • How many people will get healed?
  • Will numerous souls be saved?
  • Who’s life am I going to change?

Questions like these want to be answered, but it honestly do not matter.

The root of it all is simply love. The incurable disease of unstoppable, unyielding, unconditional love.

To be painfully honest, I often feel intimidated by my fellow team members’ passion. Being free to express themselves seems to come  naturally for them. That is not the case for me. I start to doubt if I will  make an impact. Will the Shuar even notice how much I adore them?

Instead of investigating the roots, I examined the color of the flower…
Instead of seeing the root of love, I grumbled that my expression of  it did not look like theirs. 

Oh, how dull a meadow would be if every flower was the same.

In the midst of sizing up my capabilities, I had to remember that the greatest thing I can ever offer is love. I can have the wisdom of Solomon or the faith of Abraham, but without love I am nothing.

“If I speak in the tongues of men or of angels, but do not have love, I am only a resounding gong or a clanging cymbal. If I have the gift of prophecy and can fathom all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have a faith that can move mountains, but do not have love, I am nothing. If I give all I possess to the poor and give over my body to hardship that I may boast, but do not have love, I gain nothing.” -1 Corinthians 13:1-3

For the next few days and for the duration of the trip this is what I need to constantly remember:

  1. My words will wither and my good works will fade away, but love is always here to stay.
  2. I love Ecuador! And love is not all I can do, it is everything I can do!
  3. Love is all I need. He will give me the words to speak. He will grant me the boldness I need. He moves in love.
  4. Love is the reason. Love is the mission.

Love is why I am going to Ecuador…

-Dios respira vida en sueños aparentemente imposibles

Leave a Reply

